The Old Jail has had far more than its share of horror since its opening in 1889. Within the walls of this Fortress 4 Sheriff's died and 14 Inmates. The Old Jail was home for some infamous murderers including "The Hand Saw Slayer", "The 22 Caliber Serial Killers", "The Proposal Day Murderer" and many more. "Carl Etherington", a Dry-Agent Detective was being held here for protection as an angry mob of over a thousand people gathered and rammed the North entrance of the jail finally gaining entry. They stormed to the second floor cell block where Etherington was being held and beat him to death with a sledge hammer. The mob then drug him out of the jail and up to the Southeast side of the Town Square where they lynched him to a telegraph pole. It is said that nearly 5,000 people including women and children all came to take a peak at the hanging agent. "Laura Devlin" a 72 year old women who went mad and killed her husband then cut his arms and legs off with a hand saw and placed his arms and head in her oven and cooked them.
The team from Spirit Rising Paranormal and individual members of the team have visited numerous sites that are open to the public for Paranormal Investigations. This page is dedicated to those locations and the people who run them.
The cornerstone laid on November 4, 1886 evolved into this magnificent Chateauesque structure. Cleveland architect Levi T. Scofield designed the Ohio State Reformatory using a combination of three architectural styles; Victorian Gothic, Richardsonian Romanesque and Queen Anne. This was done to encourage inmates back to a "rebirth" of their spiritual lives. The architecture itself inspired them to turn away from their sinful lifestyle, and toward repentance.
The Reformatory doors were opened to its first 150 young offenders in September 1896. After housing over 155,000 men in its lifetime, the doors to the prison closed December 31, 1990.
The House of Wills
In Cleveland, Ohio a large three story manor stands as testament to a bygone era . This former funeral home was once a meeting place for grieving families. Some claim that the dearly departed still roam the labyrinthine halls searching for a way to break their mortal coils. Others believe the edifice to be the location of a portal to the other side. Do the souls of the dead inhabit this location? Do phantoms remain, searching for eternal salvation?
Constructed between 1858 and 1881, is the largest hand-cut stone masonry building in North America, and is purportedly the second largest in the world, next to the Kremlin. It was designed by the renowned architect Richard Andrews following the Kirkbride plan, which called for long rambling wings arranged in a staggered formation, assuring that each of the connecting structures received an abundance of therapeutic sunlight and fresh air. The original hospital, designed to house 250 souls, was open to patients in 1864 and reached its peak in the 1950's with 2,400 patients in overcrowded and generally poor conditions. Changes in the treatment of mental illness and the physical deterioration of the facility forced its closure in 1994 inflicting a devastating effect on the local economy, from which it has yet to recover
Surrounded by many trees, ornate wrought iron fencing and gardens of daylilies, this magnificent mansion inspires visitors to research the history of Bishop William Montgomery Brown. Plus, step back in time at the Historic Grace Church located directly across the street from Brownella!Brownella Cottage was recently featured on the “My Ghost Stories” season finale! Is Bishop Brown still roaming the halls of Brownella? Many local individuals think so! Visit Brownella and find out for yourself!!